Stars travel to Leicester in Premiership

KING’S Lynn return to Premiership action after a ten-day break when they visit top-flight newcomers Leicester tomorrow night (7.30pm).

The MacInnes Stars have lost their opening two away matches in the league, at Wolverhampton and Ipswich, and are looking for better as they make the trip to the East Midlands.

The Lions have been inconsistent so far in 2023, having been beaten on their own circuit by Ipswich in the KO Cup and they also lost a Super Heat against Belle Vue after a 45-45 ‘draw’ – but they did put in a strong display last week to defeat Wolves 49-41.

Former King’s Lynn man Richard Lawson is now part of a solid Leicester side which also includes Grand Prix rider Max Fricke and the evergreen Chris Harris.

The Stars are still without skipper Josh Pickering as he continues to undergo treatment on his shoulder, with Belle Vue’s Tom Brennan coming in to guest at reserve.

Boss Alex Brady otherwise names an unchanged line-up for a meeting in which it is imperative that the Stars get off to a good start, having dropped 12-points down in the early stages at Ipswich last week.

Co-promoter Dale Allitt said: “We’re looking forward to going there as it’s been a few years since we’ve raced at Leicester, and it’s a meeting we should be looking to get something out of.

“They’re a team set up in a fairly similar way to us, albeit they have an out-and-out No.1 in Max Fricke, but we feel we have riders lower down the order who can make a difference.

“Tom Brennan is in good form at the moment so it’s good to have him as a guest, and several of our other riders have had good meetings there in the past, so we can go into it with a positive mindset.”

Stars supporters making the trip are reminded that parking is available in the stadium car park and the nearby Tesco, with the latter having a strict four-hour time limit.

Leicester: Max Fricke, Justin Sedgmen, Richard Lawson, Chris Harris, Nick Morris, Jake Allen, Dan Thompson.

King’s Lynn: Nicolai Klindt, Thomas Jorgensen, Frederik Jakobsen, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Michael Palm Toft, Tom Brennan, Jason Edwards.